Permits, Inspections & Licenses

e-permits buttonv4

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS E-PERMITS
 
(apply for an e-permit, search permit records, estimate permit fees)



Reroof Photo Submission - CAN UPLOAD UP TO 10 PHOTOS AT A TIME. IF YOU HAVE MORE THAN 10 PLEASE DO SEPARATE SUBMISSIONS.

Inspections 
The City helps ensure the construction of safe buildings and protects community character through building code regulations.  The Inspections Division administers these regulations through permits and inspections.

Permits

Building and related permits ensure that projects will be constructed according to nationally-recognized standards.  The standards are designed to protect buildings from fire and to ensure the safety of all building occupants.  Review of permit applications also ensures that projects meet zoning requirements, such as yard coverage, setbacks and building height.

Some permits such as residential electrical, plumbing, mechanical, building re-siding, re-roofing and window replacements can be issued at the time of application.  Other residential permit applications take up to 10 working days to process.  Applications for permits should be submitted well in advance of the scheduled start date.  This will allow time for the city staff to offer assistance through the process and issue the permit at the start of the project.  This is especially true during the summer construction season.

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Codes

Forms/Handouts:


NEW ELECTRICAL SAFETY REQUIREMENT: AFCI PROTECTION FOR REPLACEMENT OUTLETS


RPZ TESTING / BACKFLOW PREVENTER


"How Do I Schedule an Inspection?"

  • For a Building, Plumbing, Mechanical or Electrical Inspection call 612-861-9860
  • For Point of Sale or Rental  License Inspection call 612-861-9882 or see the Point of Sale or Rental License page.
  • For a Fire Inspection (Alarm or Suppression) contact the Fire Department.

"I Have A Question for an Inspector, Who Do I Call?"

Chief Building Official | Rick Regnier
Ph: 612-861-9862
Email: rregnier@richfieldmn.gov
Senior Office Assistant | Julia Brysky 
Ph: 612-861-9860
Email: jbrysky@richfieldmn.gov 
Building Inspector | Bernie Feidt
Ph: 612-861-9887
Email: bfeidt@richfieldmn.gov
Permit Technician | Rachel Graack
Ph: 612-861-9860
Email: rgraack@richfieldmn.gov 
Building Inspector | Alan Voracek
Ph: 612-861-9863
Email: avoracek@richfieldmn.gov
 
Mechanical/Plumbing Inspector | Brian Fehrenbach
Ph: 612-861-9804
Email: bfehrenbach@richfieldmn.gov
 
Housing Inspector | Jennifer Grinde
Ph: 612-861-9883
Email: jgrinde@richfieldmn.gov
Housing Inspections Clerk | Natalie Stanton
Ph: 612-861-9882
Email: nstanton@richfieldmn.gov 
Housing Inspector | Dean Tran
Ph: 612-861-9761
Email: dtran@richfieldmn.gov
 

For Electrical Inspector Questions ONLY - Call between 7:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m., Monday thru Friday

Electrical Inspector | James Noonan
Ph: 612-798-1877
Electrical Inspector | John Thompson
Ph: 763-205-5015